Runs across the U.S.A.

June 23, 2010 at 6:05 pm 2 comments

Now, where was I?

When last we met, it was the night before the women’s mini 10K in Central Park on June 12. That race was super fun and I felt awesome! I ran the whole way with Laura and we had such a nice time. The six miles flew by. Seriously. And we beat Paula Radcliffe! Okay, that part isn’t true. But it was still a really nice day. According to my Garmin, which I stopped when we took a bathroom break, we finished in 1:01:07. Our official finishing time was around 1:05, I think. They gave us carnations.

Later that afternoon I traveled to Rhode Island, and there, on Sunday, I did a pre-mapped 3.1 in my parents’ neighborhood. The Garmin wasn’t working (really I just didn’t know what button to press), so I guesstimated pace. I was rushing to make it home for dinner and I finished in 28:30. Pretty speedy for me!

Monday night, back to New York; Tuesday morning, last run in the city before vacation. I did 5 miles over my usual route on the West Side Highway. It was okay. I did 5.01 miles in 49:32. I stopped the watch every time I stopped for water. Is that allowed? I thought it’s what you’re supposed to do but it feels so wrong!

And then we vacated the city!

Wednesday morning we woke up in San Francisco and the very first thing we did was go for a run! Are you SO proud? We were supposed to do 4 miles, I think, but we only did 3 because we didn’t really know where we were going and the streets were really crowded. We were quite slow, too. I think we finished in about 33 minutes.

Afterwards, we went to the San Francisco Giants game.

Thursday we took some time off from running and did some exploring instead.

Friday morning I dragged myself to the hotel gym to get some miles in. It looked like it was too chilly to go outside. I had a grand old time on that treadmill! It had full cable and I was able to watch What Not to Wear. It was such a pleasant way to pass the time. I thought I might only be able to squeeze out 3 miles, but I happily did 4, and by the end, I had the treadmill at 6.5 – I finished in 41 minutes. Having something interesting to watch makes all the difference on the mill. (Chuck ran too, but outside.)

We rewarded ourselves with lunch at Chez Panisse.

And dinner at the French Laundry!

More to come tomorrow.

In the meantime, our usual run tomorrow in the park is being replaced by the Wall Street Heart Run. It’s just 3 miles, but it’s through city streets and lots of fun. Please come!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Oh, hello! The race to end all races

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abby  |  June 23, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    you are the cutest thing ever. how was chez panisse? What did you eat??

    Reply
  • 2. Meghann  |  June 23, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    it was so lovely! i had a baked goat cheese salad and corn-zucchini soup. so delicious.

    loved the latest picture of the giant 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Stats

wordpress com stats

Coach on the Move

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


