Working 9 to 5

May 25, 2010 at 3:12 pm Leave a comment

I chose yoga last night and even though I’m glad I did, it kind of messed up the evening. I stopped for groceries on my way home, dropped them off, changed, and headed right back out to the studio. My class was 6:30-8, but my teacher was a bit all over the place and the class ended up going until 8:15. I know it was only 15 minutes, but it sent me all off kilter. (And knowing we were running late kind of undid the relaxation of the class; I was antsy all through savasana.)

Having a 9 to 5 job means the hours outside of work have to be really carefully scheduled, and even 15 minutes makes a big difference: dinner and bed are both 15 minutes later.

It makes me feel really uptight to admit that I’m so obsessive about these things. I swear, I am just a regular person with a not-so-interesting life, but I find it difficult to squeeze in everything I want to do in the non-working, non-sleeping hours. (The list of things I want to do is pretty small and basic: run, do yoga, see friends, eat homemade meals, occasionally try new things, etc. Not so much to ask, but sometimes so impossible to achieve.) So I carefully pack things in. I fail often, but having a schedule and a plan does help. I just need to be a little more flexible when I lose 15 minutes here or there.

We ended up eating dinner at 9:30. It was a spinach and mushroom quiche and it was pretty good, despite the fact that I forgot to add the salt and the pepper before it went in the oven (something’s gotta give). I tried to stay up until at least 11 for digestion purposes, but I fell asleep on the couch at 10:30.  

This morning I did a little bit of weight lifting with the hand weights and kettlebell I have at home. I did it yesterday too, but I figure if Jillian says I can Shred every day then I can lift every day as well. Anyway, these are pretty light weights.

I want to run tonight, but I’m not feeling too well. I had my usual breakfast plus a mini carton of OJ for some vitamin C power. Next stop: green tea. It won’t be the end of the world if I can’t run today, but it would be nice if I could at least get in 3 or 4 miles on the treadmill. Just to get my legs going again.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Detours CSI: My couch

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Stats

wordpress com stats

Coach on the Move

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


