Run report: The night before the night before

May 21, 2010 at 2:47 pm 2 comments

Just four of us ended up making it out last night, but it was a great group – all former Team R2R members. It has been a long time since we had a R2R-only run! Perfect timing since things are about to kick into gear for the 2010 team.

We did the 5 mile loop in about 53 minutes. It’s nice to be in a small group sometimes, because all four of us were able to chat together for most of the run. We spent a lot of time bonding over The Biggest Loser (oh yes, I love it, and I’m not ashamed) and vegetarian snacks and race t-shirts. It helped the time slip by. We were all drenched with sweat when we finished. It feels like it was just yesterday that we were wearing thermal pants and gloves for runs, and now we’re already back in tank tops. And it’s only going to get hotter!

(I forgot the Garmin! What the heck is wrong with me lately?!)

After the run Chuck and I went to dinner in celebration of the fact that he doesn’t have to work today and that I love going out to dinner. We went to Le Singe Vert and I had fried artichoke salad with a side of mushroom and pea risotto (both of which were labeled as vegan on the menu and arrived covered in cheese). Yummy and not tooooo unhealthful, especially for a french restaurant. Oh, and we shared a bottle of wine, naturally!

After dinner we both fell asleep on the couch and now I’m a bit concerned that I didn’t get a proper night’s sleep. They say that it’s the night before the night before a race that really matters in terms of quality sleep, and if that’s true, I definitely blew it. Luckily I am not planning on breaking any records tomorrow.

Today I am going to eat all the carbs I want. But I started with the standard breakfast:

Perfect as always.

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend! I’ll be back Monday with a full race report. Brooklyn Half, here we come!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hungry? Why wait? Detours

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  May 24, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    I went there for my birthday four years ago! I probably even had the risotto. Hope you had a great half!

    Reply
    • 2. Meghann  |  May 24, 2010 at 1:13 pm

      we went there with meredith once too, remember?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Stats

wordpress com stats

Coach on the Move

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


