Under the towel

May 13, 2010 at 3:21 pm Leave a comment

On Tuesday night, I mentioned to a friend that I always wonder about the people who throw towels over the display on the treadmill. How can they not know where they are in the workout? Don’t they need to see that they’re getting closer to their goal in order to keep it up?

And then, out of the blue, last night I decided to try it. I wasn’t really achieving anything by staring at the seconds tick by. So a few minutes in, I threw the towel over the display. I didn’t know exactly what time it was, but I knew it was before 6 pm, so I told myself that I wouldn’t uncover it until after 6:30, which I’d determine by the TV schedule. (King of Queens. Again. Why?)

When I got closer to 6:30 I realized that I might only be about 35 minutes in at 6:30, and that would mean that I still had almost 10 minutes left of my workout (to do 4 miles). I decided to go through until the first commercial break of (YET ANOTHER EPISODE OF) King of Queens. Those last few minutes were hard, but when I finally got to tear off the towel, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that I went 4.25 miles! I exceeded my goal for the day. And I think I really like the towel system after all. There’s no need to obsess over every minute. Just run.

So, 4.25 miles in 46:20. That brings me to 10.5 miles for the week. I’ll add 5 more tonight…and either squeeze in a short run tomorrow and 6 or 7 on Sunday, or go for the full 10 then.

On the Shredding front, day 3 in a row = success. I’m getting in a good morning rhythm. I just hope I can do it on the weekend.

Run club is tonight! Please come if you’d like to jog with us. We’re really, really fun. 6:30 at the Columbus Circle entrance to Central Park.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Just 25 miles Run report: The sound of silence

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Stats

wordpress com stats

