Thunder thighs

April 7, 2010 at 3:29 pm 2 comments

My running uniform is capri pants and a short sleeve top. I’m not a particularly self conscious or shy person, but I also don’t really want the dirty truth hanging out there when I’m running (an activity that causes much jiggling). But I’ve been thinking lately that I could venture into the world of shorts. It’d be much more comfortable in the gym, where it’s super hot. I found a pair at Old Navy on my way home last night for just $12, and I thought, this is my chance! $12 is a non-investment, so if I wear them once and hate them, I don’t have to feel bad about it.

Well. I wore them once and I hated them!

The walk to the gym was unpleasant, and I should have known that was a bad sign. I’m no skinny bitch, and my thighs do touch (a lot), which means chafing is a serious issue. And oh, there was chafing. I made it through one minute of jogging and 30 seconds of sprinting before I gave up. I was in a state of great discomfort, both physical and emotional. I was yanking at the shorts and stumbling and things were rubbing together and it was all very not good. But I couldn’t just get off the treadmill and leave – that would likely have resulted in a long evening of wine drinking and feeling bad for myself – so I walked at a super fast pace and a super high incline for 30 minutes (during which time the shorts managed to stay in place). I’m actually sore today from that! Weird. But, needless to say, the shorts are going into early retirement.

So: back to the old uniform. I think the lesson here is that sometimes, it’s okay to stay inside your comfort zone.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Inside outside outside inside Reunited, and it feels so good

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tonia  |  April 7, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    I hate running shorts. They always bunch and cause chaffing. You need to try a skirt and then use a bunch of body glide!

    Reply
  • 2. Meghann  |  April 7, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I do have a skirt but it’s just a cheapie one from target, and the shorts underneath also ride up…perhaps I should try one of your fancy ones! What is the brand name again?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Stats

wordpress com stats

Coach on the Move

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


