Inside outside outside inside

April 6, 2010 at 3:15 pm Leave a comment

Last night I had an impossible time deciding whether to run inside or outside. I always want to do which ever one is “easier,” but I couldn’t figure out which one that was in this case. Obviously the weather was great, but the west side highway is a bit far from our apartment and the gym is so close, and we had plans to meet friends at 8 so time was of the essence. But when Chuck called and I told him I was going for a run, he was so jealous – and I realized it would be crazy not to run outside on such a beautiful day.

It was lovely. There were a lot of people out – especially a lot of bikes – so it was a bit crowded, but for the most part people were respectful. I struggled with the first mile, as always, but grew comfortable and finished 4 miles in 39 minutes (which included a lengthy stop to re-tie my waistband and fix my headphones). I’m happy with that.

On another note, I forgot to mention yesterday that when we were broken down on Friday, we were near a park area that had a running/biking path going through it. As we waited (and waited and waited), I watched all of the people coming through and my heart was so warmed! Every kind of person you could imagine was running – young and old, big and small, fast and slow. But they were all out there, making the effort and growing stronger. Very impressive.

Tonight I’d like to go for a bike ride, if I can get a tune up quickly and be on the road before dark. If not, maybe intervals on the treadmill, or perhaps a class? Too many choices!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The best laid plans Thunder thighs

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Stats

wordpress com stats