The best laid plans

April 5, 2010 at 4:44 pm Leave a comment

I wanted to run this weekend. I intended to run! I packed my clothes and I even had a time planned. But it wasn’t meant to be.

We left the city at noon on Friday and a half hour later we were broken down off of exit 8B, just north of the Bronx. And we sat there for FIVE hours waiting for AAA to find us. Apparently we were in the Bermuda Triangle of New York highways. So that means that instead of getting to RI around 3:30, with lots of time to run all of our errands, we got there at 9:30, with time for….nothing.

Saturday morning, therefore, was not a run followed by a leisurely breakfast and manicure – it was total madness trying to get in all of Friday’s errands before we had to be out for the day.

The thing is, though, I could have gone out for a run. I just didn’t get up early enough. I loooooove to sleep. Big time. And I was exhausted from the day before, so I let myself have a pass. But if I really want to get the miles in, I can’t indulge myself in 9 (or more!) hours of sleep each night. I need to be a bit more serious.

It’s a tricky thing, finding time and keeping a schedule. I don’t want to feel like I live the life of a prisoner. But I want to be a better runner and a healthier person. I want everything and I want to sacrifice nothing. Ha! Sound familiar? It’s clearly not possible. So here are a few reasonable goals I’m setting for myself to make more time for training:

  • Go to bed earlier and get up earlier. Even though I don’t like getting up, I’m at my best in the morning. It’s when I clean the house and get stuff done. So while I don’t really see myself running or going to the gym before work, I do think that I could get other stuff done to leave the evenings free.
  • Block off a weeknight evening. As in, I am never ever available on Tuesdays. Period. This will be really hard for me because I just can’t say no to seeing friends or doing something fun and interesting. But I think I should try.
  • Run anywhere/everywhere. We seem to be away a lot on the weekend, visiting family and friends. So running needs to be worked in to travel. Every time.
  • If there’s only time for a little bit of running, it’s okay. Just do it. Every mile counts.

Maybe some of these ideas might help you too?

Since we’re doing a long bike ride in May, and because I don’t want to beat down my body too much before serious marathon training begins, I’d like to aim to run three days a week and cross train (bike, yoga, etc.) two days. That’s a lot for me but I really want to get it in there! So, here goes nothing. I’ll keep you posted on what happens next!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Run report: Yes, you can Inside outside outside inside

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Stats

wordpress com stats

Coach on the Move

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


