My new favorite thing

March 31, 2010 at 2:52 pm 2 comments

About a month ago, I decided it was time for me to try interval training. We did it once during marathon training last year, on a particularly hot, sticky, unpleasant evening, and I was a little scared off. But I know that it makes a real difference for runners, so I decided to give it a go again. And I fell in love!

Okay, maybe not love. But it’s satisfying to do a short workout and feel like you really accomplished something. Plus, it’s nice to run hard. I can’t do it for long, but the short bursts feel good.

Last night I went to the gym (long time no see, friend) to do intervals on the treadmill. My previous pattern had been:

  • Warm up 5 minutes walking
  • 1 minute jogging at 5.0-5.3
  • 30 seconds running at 7.0-7.3 (I know these are slow speeds, but they’re fast by my standards!)
  • Repeat jogging and running 14 times for a total of 20 minutes
  • Cool down 5 minutes walking

I wanted to improve on this somehow, and the options were increasing speed or increasing time. Once I was on the treadmill I knew it wasn’t going to be speed, so I went for time. 25 total minutes of intervals with two and a half minutes of walking at the beginning and end. It was only about 2.5 miles total, but they were quality miles. And I really do believe that my overall running ability has improved since I added intervals to my routine.

Only one drawback – being my clumsy self, I tripped and nearly fell off the treadmill, and in an effort to save my life, I slammed my elbow into the bar at the front. It hurt! And it generated the picture of the day. I know it doesn’t look that bad but I’m telling you! It’s ugly in person.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Unofficially Official Beans, beans, they’re good for your heart

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tonia  |  March 31, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Ouch! Kaden just broke her elbow and is rocking a cast. Maybe you could be cast twins!

    Love intervals. They keep things fresh and make you feel so fast!

    Reply
  • 2. Meghann  |  March 31, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    I saw that – poor thing! she’s so brave though – it seems like she’s handling it better than I’m handling my pathetic little bruise 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Stats

wordpress com stats

